The Happiness Project and 8 Clutter Types

Last week, I began reading The Happiness Project: Or, why I Spent a Year Trying to Sing in the Morning, Clean My Closets, Fight Right, Read Aristotle, and Generally Have More Fun by Gretchen Rubin. This book has been on my reading list for a while now, and I finally found the time to pick it up. I am really liking it so far. Check out this quick video that briefly describes the book:

Within the first chapter, Gretchen outlines 8 different clutter types that she discovers while trying to clean, declutter, and organize her home. The clutter types she discusses are below:

  1. Nostalgic clutter, made up of relics she clung to from her earlier life
  2. Self-righteous conservation clutter, made up of things that she kept because they’re useful- even though they’re useless to her. Example: 23 glass florist-shop vases she was storing
  3. Bargain clutter, which results from buying unnecessary things because they are on sale
  4. Freebie clutter, made up of gifts, hand-me-downs, and giveaways that aren’t used
  5. Crutch clutter, made up of things she uses but shouldn’t. [My example: a favorite t-shirt that is ratty and falling apart, but I still wear it]
  6. Aspirational clutter, made up of things that she owned but only aspired to used [My example: my scrapbooking materials; I can’t remember when I last used them, but by golly I have the stuff for the one day in the future that I have time to use it all]
  7. Outgrown clutter, made up of stuff you used once, but now for one reason or another you no longer use it, but it is still hanging around
  8. Buyer’s remorse clutter, made of stuff you should’ve return, but it was easier to just ignore it

Do you have any of these types of clutter in your home? If so, there is never a better time to start rounding it up and getting rid of it than now. J

Happy decluttering!

Leave a Reply

